Monday, May 25, 2009

The Brief profile of National Democratic Front - NDF

Establishment of NDF

The National Democratic Front (NDF) consists with leadership of political wings in the ethnic groups. The NDF was established in May 10, 1976 at Manerplaw, Kawtoolay by 12 different Ethnic political parties and organizations, such as the Arakan, Chin, Karen, Karenni, Kachin, Lahu, Mon, Pa-O, Palaung, Shan and Wa. The NDF is the first and most successful union of all of the ethnic groups who are working together to develop the best strategy for a Federal Union and topple military regime.

Aims of the NDF
1. Equality right and self-determination right for all ethnic nationals and
2. Establishment of a Federal Union based on democratic principles.

The Beliefs of NDF

The NDF firmly believes that
1. All ethnic nationals must enjoy political equality, regardless of the size of their populations, advancement and backwardness, in order to establish genuine national unity;

2. A state should be established for the Burman ethnic national in order to ensure the equality principle of ethnic nationals in Burma and self-determination right;

3. Ethnic conflicts originating from political causes could only be resolved by political means and not by military means, which has been the course successive Burmese regimes have been pursuing; and

4. The military regime attempting to resolve the conflict only by the military means should be overcome and for that the democratic forces must be organized for united struggle against the military regime.

The Principles of NDF

(1) The NDF is a leading front of all the ethnic nationals organized for upholding the interests and betterment of the ethnic nationals;
(2) The NDF is totally against any system that hinders development of all the ethnic nationals and upholds national democratic principles;
(3) The NDF shall cooperate with any organizations or individuals that promote World peace and oppose dictatorship;
(4) The NDF is absolutely against any system that suppresses multi-ethnic nationals’ unity;
(5) The NDF respectfully observes international standards as well as the value of local traditions whilst realizing its aims and objectives;
(6) The NDF was founded by organizations that are committed to uphold equality, democracy, mutual understanding and cooperation; and
(7) The NDF shall settle every major disagreement on the basis of shall be neglected. Any disagreement shall be resolved through peaceful negotiation.

Membership criteria of the NDF

If an organization which has the following characteristic could be a member of NDF;
1) A well defined political program and guide line/ political;
2) A Central Committee to realize its political program and guide line policy;
3) An armed force or believe in armed resistance;
4) A base area that enjoy the support of the masses of people in that area; and,
5) Has accepted the right of equality and self-determination for all ethnic nationalities.

Current member organization of NDF

1) Arakan Liberation Party (ALP)
2) Chin National Front (CNF)
3) Karen National Union (KNU)
4) Lahu Democratic Union (LDU)
5) New Mon State Party (NMSP)
6) Pa_O People’s Liberation Organization (PPLO)
7) Palaung State Liberation Front (PSLF)
8) Wa National Organization (WNO)

The Leadership of NDF 7th Congress Term

The Seventh Congress of the National Democratic Front (NDF) was successfully held from April 6 to 9, 2009 at a certain place in the liberated area. This Congress elected democratically leaders, at different levels, in accordance with the Constitution for implementation, during the term of the 7th Congress, the programs laid down by the Central Executive Committee - CEC of NDF, as follows;

1. Chairman Saw David Tharckabaw (KNU)
2. Vice-Chaiman Khaing Soe Naing Aung (ALP)
3. General Secretary Mai Bhone Kyaw (PSLF)
4. Joint-G/Secretary Mahn Nyein Maung (KNU)
5. CEC Col. Khun Okker (PPLO)
6. CEC Khaing Ne Lin (ALP)
7. CEC Mai aik Phone (PSLF)
8. CEC Dr. Sui Khar (CNF)
9. CEC Saya Nai (NMSP)
10. CEC Saw Tar Doemu (KNU)
11. CEC Khun Ooh (PPLO)
12. CEC Na Mi Shaw (LDU)

The significant works of NDF (Part One)

(a) The integration of national liberation movement with the democratic movement.
(b) The formation of the All Burma Student Democratic Front (ABSDF)
(c) The forming National Coalition Government of the Union of Burma (NCGUB)

The significant works of NDF (Part Two)

(a) NDF Cadet training in 1981
(b) NDF Joint Military Command in 1982
(c) NDF regional forces in 1984
(d) A long march to Northern Burma in 1985-86
(e) The Federal University of NDF

The significant works of NDF (Part Three)

(a) The Manerplaw Agreement in 1992
(b) The attempt to reunite the two splitting factions of Mon organization in 1982
(c) The compromising of Mon-Karen armed conflict in 1988
(d) NDF and UWSP alliance in 1989
(e)The historical seminar of Ethnic Nationalities in 1997

For more information, please contact to;

P.O Box 101
Mae Sod, Tak 63110
Tel: 055 536 757
Fax: (+66) 55 536 757

No comments:

Post a Comment